Friday, June 23, 2006

Currencies Of The European Union

Map Big

As of this writing there are 25 member states in the European Union (EU) and here is a chronology of when each became a member:

1958: Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, The Netherlands

1973: Denmark, Ireland, United Kingdom

1981: Greece

1986: Portugal, Spain

1995: Austria, Finland, Sweden

2004: The Czech Republic, Cyprus, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia

Possible member candidates:
Croatia, Macedonia, and Turkey

Other Potential Member states:
The remaining states in the Balkans (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro and Serbia, including Kosovo)

Those who failed to join or left:
Norway, Greenland, Morocco, and Switzerland.

Other Future Prospects:
Armenia, Cape Verde, Georgia, Iceland, Moldova , and Ukraine

And include the European Microstates:
Liechtenstein, Monaco, and Vatican City

And More:
Macaronesia Region composed of Cape Verde(named above), Azores and Madeira, and Spanish Canary Islands; then, Azerbaijan, Faroe Islands, Iceland, and San Marino.

However, there are only 12 member countries using the EU currency, the euro:
Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal and Spain.(Coins and notes were released only on 1 January 2002.)

But the following non-members also use the euro currency: Andorra, the Holy See, Monaco and San Marino.

Click to read more.